Equipo Nizkor
        Bookshop | Donate
Derechos | Equipo Nizkor       


The nuclear powers refused to sign the Treaty for the prohibition of nuclear weapons

Five members of the UN Security Council see other ways to solve the nuclear issue.

Russia, UK, China, USA and France issued a joint statement of the countries-permanent members of the UN Security Council’s refusal of the conclusion of a Treaty banning nuclear weapons. The statement, in particular, published on the website of the foreign Ministry.

“We will not support, sign or ratify the Treaty. The NPT by would not have a binding character for our countries, and we do not accept any statements that it contributes to the development of customary international law; it does not establish any new standards or rules. We call on all countries considering support for the NPT by, seriously consider associated implications for international peace and security,” the document says.

“We declare our rejection of a Treaty banning nuclear weapons (the NPT by). We firmly believe that the best way to achieve a world without nuclear weapons is a gradual process that takes into account the situation in the field of international security. This proven approach to nuclear disarmament has produced tangible results, including deep cuts in global nuclear weapons arsenals,” – said in a statement.

It is also noted that the five permanent members of the UN security Council believe that the NPT by not take into account key problems that must be addressed for sustainable nuclear disarmament.

[Source: By Paradox, The Mice Times of Asia, Singapore, 29Oct18]

Bookshop Donate Radio Nizkor

Nuclear Threat
small logoThis document has been published on 01Nov18 by the Equipo Nizkor and Derechos Human Rights. In accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107, this material is distributed without profit to those who have expressed a prior interest in receiving the included information for research and educational purposes.