Equipo Nizkor
        Bookshop | Donate
Derechos | Equipo Nizkor       


Switzerland includes 26 more people in sanctions list against Russia

The government of Switzerland extended on Tuesday its list of sanctions against Russia by including in it 26 more people and cited Moscow's stance in regard to the developments in neighboring Ukraine as a reason for the decision, the Swiss Federal Department of Economic Affairs, Education and Research said.

The new list of sanctions comes into effect as of August 5, 8:00 p.m. Moscow time (16:00 GMT).

The list published by EAER's State Secretariat for Economic Affairs includes Head of the Russian Federal Security Service (FSB) Alexander Bortnikov, Head of the Intelligence Service Mikhail Fradkov, Chechnya leader Ramzan Kadyrov, Deputy Head of the Security Council Rashid Nurgaliyev, leaders of embattled Ukraine's Donetsk and Luhansk People's Republics as well as some other Russian state officials and militia leaders in Ukraine.

All persons in the Swiss blacklist, which now comprises a total of 87 people and 20 companies and organizations both in Russia and Ukraine, are banned from travelling to Switzerland and prohibited to transfer their assets they hold outside the EU to Swiss banks.

[Source: Itar Tass, Geneva, 05Aug14]

Tienda de Libros Radio Nizkor On-Line Donations

Russian Affairs
small logoThis document has been published on 06Aug14 by the Equipo Nizkor and Derechos Human Rights. In accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107, this material is distributed without profit to those who have expressed a prior interest in receiving the included information for research and educational purposes.