Equipo Nizkor
        Bookshop | Donate
Derechos | Equipo Nizkor       


The UK sanctions imposed on Russia by Theresa May

Theresa May has announced the following measures against Russia after the Kremlin failed to provide an explanation as to how and why the former spy, Sergei Skripal, was poisoned by a Russian-manufactured nerve agent:

  • The expulsion of 23 Russian diplomats. They will be given one week to leave. May described it as the biggest single expulsion in 30 years.
  • The government will enact a new targeted power to detain people suspected of hostile state activity at borders. This power was previously limited to suspected terrorists.
  • The UK will increase checks on private flights, customs and freight from Russia.
  • The UK will freeze Russian assets if there is evidence they are being used to compromise British security.
  • There will be legislation to protect the UK from hostile state activity. This will include increasing powers in the sanctions bill.
  • The government will look at whether new counter-espionage powers are needed.
  • The UK has suspended all high-level diplomatic contact with Russia. This includes revoking an invitation to the Russian foreign minister, Sergei Lavrov, and there will be no attendance by government ministers or members of the royal family at this summer's World Cup in Russia.
[Source: By Haroon Siddique, The Guardian, London, 14Mar18]

Bookshop Donate Radio Nizkor

Russian Affairs
small logoThis document has been published on 15Mar18 by the Equipo Nizkor and Derechos Human Rights. In accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107, this material is distributed without profit to those who have expressed a prior interest in receiving the included information for research and educational purposes.