Equipo Nizkor
        Bookshop | Donate
Derechos | Equipo Nizkor       


MERCOSUR states intend to develop cooperation with Eurasian Economic Union

The member states of the Southern American Common market (MERCOSUR) intend to develop cooperation with the Eurasian Economic Union (EEU, established by Belarus, Kazakhstan and Russia), the participants in the MERCOSUR summit held in the Argentine city of Parana said in a joint statement on Wednesday.

Member of the board (minister) for trade of the Eurasian Economic Union Andrey Slepnev who headed negotiations with the Argentine colleagues told TASS previously that the sides "reached the general agreement on the need to start the preparation in the short run of a full-format legally binding agreement between the two unions that will form a new regulatory framework for trade between the MERCOSUR and EEU members."

MERCOSUR (bringing together Argentina, Brazil, Venezuela, Paraguay and Uruguay) and EEU together account for more than 7% of the world economy with the total population exceeding 0.5 billion people.

The new integration alliance - EEU - will start functioning in January 1, 2015. The Union brings together Russia, Belarus, Kazakhstan and Armenia, and Kyrgyzstan intends to join them in the near future.

[Source: Itar Tass, Bs As, 18Dec14]

Tienda de Libros Radio Nizkor On-Line Donations

Informes sobre DESC
small logoThis document has been published on 19Dec14 by the Equipo Nizkor and Derechos Human Rights. In accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107, this material is distributed without profit to those who have expressed a prior interest in receiving the included information for research and educational purposes.