Equipo Nizkor
        Bookshop | Donate
Derechos | Equipo Nizkor       


EU publishes new black list of Russians

The official journal of the European Union has published the names of 10 Russian officials and five representatives of Ukraine's south-east resistance, against whom have been applied sanctions constituting in ban of entry in EU territory and assets freezing (if any) in member states.

In particular, the list includes:

    Deputy Prime Minister Dmitry Kozak;
    Permanent Presidential Representative in Crimea Oleg Belaventsev;
    Vice-Speaker of the State Duma Lyudmila Shvetsova;
    Head of the General Staff of the Russian Armed Forces Valery Gerasimov;
    Head of Main Intelligence Directorate of the General Staff Igor Sergun;
    Deputy Chairman of the State Duma Sergei Neverov;
    Minister for Crimean Affairs Oleg Savelyev;
    Sevastopol Governor Sergei Menyailo;
    Senator of Crimean executive authority Olga Kovitidi;
    Main Intelligence Directorate employee Igor Strelkov.

In addition, sanctions were imposed on leaders of self-defense forces in Ukraine's south-east German Prokopyev and Valery Bolotov, head of Donetsk People's Republic (DPR) Sergei Purgin, as well as DPR leadership representatives Denis Pushilin and Sergei Tsyplakov.

The updated list comes into effect since Tuesday. The overall number of people included in EU black list has reached 48 people. All of them are banned entry to EU states until November, and their bank assets will be frozen if there are found any in European banks.

On March 17, the European Union published the initial sanctions list for Russia and Crimea that included 21 names. Then the European "black list" included eight representatives of the Crimean leadership: Prime Minister Sergey Aksyonov; speaker of the State Council Vladimir Konstantinov; First Deputy Premier of the government Rustam Temirgaliyev; Deputy Commander-in-Chief of the Black Sea Fleet Denis Berezovsky, head of the Security Council Pyotr Zima; State Council speaker's adviser Yuri Zherebtsov; member of the State Council, Chairman of the Crimean Co-ordination Council of Organizations of Russian Compatriots Sergei Tsekov; Sevastopol mayor Aleksei Chalyi.

The list also included 10 Russian parliamentarians and three high-ranking military officials: head of the defense committee of the Federation Council (FC) upper house of parliament Viktor Ozerov; first deputy head of the FC international affairs committee Vladimir Dzhabarov; head of the Federation Council committee on constitutional legislation Andrei Klishas; representative of the Belgorod region in the Federation Council Nikolai Ryzhkov; deputy speaker of the Federation Council Yevgeny Bushmin; member of the FC committee on science education, culture and information policy Alexander Totoonov; first deputy head of the FC commission on the rules of procedure and organisation of parliamentary activity Oleg Panteleyev; head of the A Just Russia faction in the State Duma lower house of parliament Sergei Mironov; Duma deputy speaker Sergei Zheleznyak; head of the Duma relevant committee on CIS affairs Leonid Slutsky.

On March 21, the European Union expanded the list, including 12 more Russian citizens; Deputy Prime Minister Dmitry Rogozin; presidential adviser Sergei Glazyev; presidential aide Vladislav Surkov; speaker of the Federation Council Valentina Matviyenko; State Duma speaker Sergei Naryshkin; director of the Russia Today agency Dmitry Kiselyov; Deputy Commanders of the Black Sea Fleet Alexander Nosatov and Valery Kulikov; head of the Crimean Central Election Commission Mikhail Malyshev; head of the Election Committee of Sevastopol Valery Medvedev; Colonel General Igor Turchenok; State Duma deputy Yelena Mizulna.

[Source: Itar Tass, Brussels, 29Apr14]

Tienda de Libros Radio Nizkor On-Line Donations

Russian Affairs
small logoThis document has been published on 29Apr14 by the Equipo Nizkor and Derechos Human Rights. In accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107, this material is distributed without profit to those who have expressed a prior interest in receiving the included information for research and educational purposes.